PDA

View Full Version : Turntabilist...does your wrist joint ever hurt after scratching/beatjuggling?

Suprarick
12-03-2013, 08:54 PM
What's up you guys? I've been deejaying for seven years now and I've really gotten serious about scratching and beat juggling this year. Only thing is, I'm starting to get a dull pain on the outside of my arm where the wrist meets the fore-arm. Has this happened to any of you all? I'm sure it's from pulling the record back so many times...this sucks! I'm wondering if any of the pro's encounter wrist pain from practicing too much.

TheRabbitMonk
12-03-2013, 09:01 PM
it will pass. as your actions will get better and less stress on your arms. it's all in the fingers. try walking the record back instead of spinning back.

Jimanee
12-04-2013, 04:51 AM
Or it will get inflamed/ worse. I've struggled with RSI for years, quick advice: you need to actively rest your hands, watch more tv, do less gaming.

What fixed it for me, was building up the muscles in my fore arms doing weights. Though, obviously, you need to rest till the pain goes away before you would do this, not really a short term fix.

TheRabbitMonk
12-04-2013, 08:19 AM
Ha ha gaming exactly what I thought made everything worse. I play much less x box now as well for this reason.

Lowercase
12-04-2013, 11:36 AM
try raising / lowering the table too. im a metalworker and have really bad repetitive strain in my wrist (tendonitis) as i swing a hammer 8 hours a day. wrest it, ice , and make sure your arms are bent at a near 90 degree angle when practicing.

there's a reason why all workbenches are 90cm tall ;) optimimum height.

Suprarick
12-04-2013, 11:41 AM
thanks guys. I think I need to use just my fingers more often when I'm scratching. I tend to bring the record back with my whole hand frequently and I probably should start using just the forward/reverse finger motion with my wrist somewhat in-place. Who knows, I may find some cool patterns.

Ocie
12-04-2013, 01:21 PM