PDA

View Full Version : Denon X1600 Question.



Gjhowe1
03-09-2012, 12:20 PM
Heys guys,

Quick question, thinking of getting the denon x1600 mixer as i've herd good things about it. Plan on using it with traktor.

My question is can the built in effects in the x1600 still be applied to the main mix when the audio is coming from traktor (USB), or to use the effects in the x1600 does the audio need to come in via the RCA connectors. I know traktor can basically do all the effects on the software side of things but thought it might be cool if you could layer them with the effects built into the x1600.

Thanks guys.

-Greg

g-sep
03-09-2012, 12:48 PM
Bump for a good question :tup:

TrueWind
03-09-2012, 01:49 PM
Well... the EFX of the DN-X1600 affect any source that go THROUGH it. so your soundcard's outputs would have to go thru the input of the mixer and then you can layer efx.

Gjhowe1
03-09-2012, 05:56 PM
Yea i know that the audio has to pass through it, i was just wondering if i could route the internal soundcard on the mixer though the efx unit without the need for external cables / soundcard.

Danny D
03-10-2012, 04:04 AM
I used to have the DN-X1600 last year and spend like 8 months playing with it but haven't tried the Traktor function (I used 2 CDJs) but I can guarantee with you that mixer is very good for the price :)

Lost Connection
03-10-2012, 11:54 AM
If I understood the question right, yes you can. I use it with two Techs and the signal goes from my techs to traktor and then back through the mixer to the speakers. You have the Efx send button on each channel, so if Deck A is assigned to Channel 1, then when you press the efx send and activate effects it will put the effects in use on the track coming from Traktor through Dn-x1600 to the speakers.

Only thing that connects the mixer and my laptop is the usb cable and the mixer's effects work.

Gjhowe1
03-10-2012, 01:34 PM
Perfect! Thats what i wanted to here! Love the knowledge on this forum.

Lost Connection
03-10-2012, 03:12 PM
Glad to be of assistance :)

hoff
03-10-2012, 04:16 PM
Like others have said, yes, the effects can be applied to audio from traktor. I've loved this ability because I hate traktor delays, but love the delay in the x1600. You can apply the fx to all 4 channels at the same time too, regardless of audio source.