PDA

View Full Version : A few legal questions

Seopril
03-09-2012, 07:14 AM
Hey everyone,
I was just wondering about some of the legal aspects of being a DJ. I'm assuming that in most venues (at least where I would be playing) won't pay for royalties on the songs. How do I pay royalties on the music I'd be playing? Also, if I DJ just a few times a year, will I need any sort of license, whether it is a business license or any other type? I'm completely new to DJing, and I'm getting the equipment this weekend, so I just wanted to figure all of this out before hand.

Thanks for the help!

Gareth
03-09-2012, 07:35 AM
I can't speak for countries other than the UK, but here in Blighty we have something called PRS (Performing Right Society) which charges venues a fee for the right to play music, and shares the receipts amongst its members, i.e. the musicians. I've always understood it's the responsibility of the venue owner to pay for the PRS licence, not the DJ or performing artists... but IANAL so don't quote me on that ;)

Subprime
03-09-2012, 07:41 AM
I wouldn't worry about it tbh. Likelihood of you getting called out on this is next to nothing. In the UK we have the PRS thing about (which most places seem to have, and as far as I'm aware there is some minimal enforcement), but we also have a licence you are meant to own if you are playing music you transferred from one format to another (i.e Beatport to CD). Never met a single person who has paid the fee.

jazzyj
03-09-2012, 08:30 AM
The Copyright powers that be in America do not issue such licenses to DJ's - only venues. It is the venues responsibility to get the license and ensure what is being played in their venue is properly licensed.

That doesn't mean you're off the hook entirely; but, I have inquired before to ASCAP n them, and they will not issue a license to an individual DJ.