PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a lot of details

rocket's ass
03-07-2012, 02:35 AM
Hi I'm starting a mobile DJ-ing side business concentrating on weddings and parties. I'm not a scratcher and don't use turntables. I'm a very standard party music type DJ specializing in mainstream music. I have 12 years of experience dj-ing in bars (country, dance, hip-hop and strip clubs) and also the occasional wedding and I'm finally biting the bullet and buying my own system.
Here's a breakdown. I'm on a limited budget so I'm getting something fairly modest to start with but at the same time, I want to show up with something that says I'm legit. After much research, I'm set on getting two JBL PRX615M's and one Yorkville LS801P subwoofer. I'm thinking that will have me sounding good for indoor gigs up to 300 people. I don't know much about mixers so I'm just planning on getting a basic 4 channel thing. Since everything is powered, I'm not planning on having anything rack mounted...no EQ or anything at first.
I dJ on a laptop with Virtual DJ software.
I'm planning on getting a lighting truss that goes over my head with two trees on the ends so I'll have 4 cams on each of those and some specialty lights in the middle along with your standard strobe and smoke machine. For most weddings I don't plan on going crazy with lights but it's obviously good to have them. I definitely see myself upgrading lights as my business hopefully progresses.
I'm planning on charging somewhere between $500-$800 a gig to start. Again as I progress, I'll tweak that as I go along.
I plan on a couple mics to start (Shures) and will get some wirelesses in the future.
Things like photobooths possibly in the future as well.
I plan on starting a website to advertise but I'm thinking that most of my business will come from referrals. I will have business cards at every gig.

So how does all this sound?

I've calculated that I'm going to have to invest approximately $4000 to get started.