PDA

View Full Version : Help @ a small venue

djchameleon
03-06-2012, 09:37 PM
I've been spinning for the past 2 years at a small venue that is very difficult. i spin for 5 hours and it's a very weird crowd. people come and go you have clicks of people that wanna hear what they wanna hear and it is becoming boring and aggravating. i have tons of banging music from house to hip hop to latin and so on but i find myself not knowing what to play.. i try to play for the crowd but they don't appreciate what i play for them.. any suggestions Thank you

DjDisArm
03-07-2012, 10:59 AM
just play what you like

MeowMix
03-07-2012, 11:32 AM
You can try building a crowd. Start handing out business cards and tell people about your facebook when you notice they like whatever you are playing.
If on any given day the crowd is just too diverse to stick maybe you can start doing genre specific or theme nights.

djchameleon
03-07-2012, 12:25 PM
thank you i will try that approach

DJMC
03-07-2012, 12:31 PM
I worked in a bar/club that had a maximum capacity of 125 persons, and maybe 60 people could fit on our dance floor. That gig lasted 7 years.

My philosophy: "Bang The Hits" -- people come in waves, there will be cliques and you need to know their favorite songs, its like a Bartender who knows the customer's drink faves.

Some songs (LMFAO) will be played into the ground. You should play them every 2 hours. Try to "Save" the biggest hits for the rush. Early hours should be like a "jukebox" for an older clientele.

If you play what people like -- they will love you!

Don't be afraid to "Rotate The Floor" in a small venue. You do not want people on the floor 24/7, because they won't buy drinks!

Changing genres and tempos will get a different demo onto the floor. Be observant and watch the crowd.

drumpusher
03-07-2012, 01:07 PM