PDA

View Full Version : I have a track and a vocalist...... Now what?

jonistaken
03-04-2012, 07:25 PM
I recently produced an instrumental version of St james infirmary in dub -

http://soundcloud.com/jonistaken/st-james-infirmiry-dub-wip

and I found a vocalist who is willing to sing over it. She is studying journalism which means that she can check out some sound/video equipment which we can use to record her singing with. Even though I have been producing for a little over four years I have done very limited work with vocals and vocalists. In addition to looking for constructive criticism I am also hoping I can get good advice or links to good advice that tell me how I can deal with vocals. I feel like drums and instruments are fairly easy to compress and work with because they stay over a fairly limited range, their dynamics are predictable and follow simple ADSR envelopes, but the human voice.... it kinda goes all over the place. I am concerned that what I typically do to instruments won't work out for vocals. I also have no idea how I should actually go about getting a good recording or situating that vocal in the mix. I am basically looking for a crash course on this stuff because we are planning on meeting up next weekend to record.

passive
03-05-2012, 01:41 AM
Firstly,Do you have a vocal booth or room with decent accustics.your surroundings make all the difference for what background noise you end up with?
its ok saying that its fine you'll just remove the noise,but,it dont work like that really.You can remove so much but if you have alot to get rid of you will end up taking bits of the vocal away also.

jonistaken
03-05-2012, 02:59 AM