PDA

View Full Version : Did I get a bad light or am I in need of some knowledge?

prof_fate
08-16-2013, 08:54 PM
See a post further on for an update...apparently the mini kinta is good...I'm just lost on why it works funky like.

I am new to DMX.
everything is new.

I got a chauvet obey 40 controller. Each fixture is assigned a starting address 16 apart - so 1, 17, 33, 49, 65, etc.

Have 2 chauvet par 64 leds. set up as fixtures 1 (address 1) and 2 (address 17), all works as it should, running as 7 channel fixtures.

I got a chauvet mini kinta today, 3 channels is the only choice. Auto works as it should, so the light 'works'.

I hooked up to the DMX as fixture 3 (address 33) and well, everything goes to hell. Tried addr 65 too. The manual is almost worse that useless.
I plugged it by itself and it seemed to work on DMX...not smoothly, but not sure what it should do, but it seemed to work.

OK, plugged in the other lights and well, it's on when they're off, they no longer work properly (red channel is red and green at the same time? same for the others). Weird. And the DMX light on the kinta flashes and it does nothing.
OK..unplug the other lights and the kinta alone and the dmx light does not light up.

I tried every cord I have (5) and it makes no difference.

Is there something I'm missing? Order they get plugged in, turned on or what?

BillESC
08-16-2013, 09:19 PM
Sounds like a bad cable.

Address the mini Kinta as 33 and make it the only fixture on the controller. If you gain control, there is a bad cable.

WillieB69
08-16-2013, 11:34 PM
I have noticed similar issues in DMX with my Kintas as well. I thought maybe it was just me not knowing what I'm doing with DMX. The thought also crossed my mind that you can't mix lights like that? (Pars are 7 channel but the Kintas are only 3 channels.) I don't know if that makes a difference or not though.

sss18734
08-16-2013, 11:49 PM