PDA

View Full Version : Are computers and DJ apps now stable?

KLH
08-05-2013, 07:32 AM
I've been using Traktor Pro for the past 24 months now. I've only experienced a freeze in TP when I unplugged an F1 and tried to load a remix deck into a remix deck that was playing. (Don't do that, BTW.) I gig live (on FWR) once-twice a week and broadcast (via FMLE) using the computer that runs Traktor.

I've not crashed once. I've limped through a set because I didn't optimize the settings (i.e. latency or drivers).

Understand that my laptop is dedicated to DJ apps. I keep Windows 7 and apps updated (iTunes, TSP, Audacity, and MixMeister BPM Analyzer, FMLE, Logitech Webcam).

Is everyone else experiencing solid dependability with the laptops and DJ software now? I guess what I'm asking is... Is the laptop/controller combo now as dependable as a traditional setup?

-KLH

Ryan Ruel
08-05-2013, 07:47 AM
I would say no.

Although laptops/controllers can be VERY stable, there is inherently an order of magnitudes more variables involved which could lead to issues.

With a laptop and software, all of the components of the setup are dependent upon one another, the machine and the OS.

If you have 3 decks and a mixer, even if one of the decks has an issue it's completely isolated from the other two. You do still have single points of failure (cables, amps, the mixer, etc.), but they are usually a constant across either platform.

I don't think a laptop setup can ever be considered as stable as purpose built gear, for DJ'ing or otherwise.

The said, do I think laptops/controllers are stable ENOUGH, yes! Just have a backup... always.

punky
08-06-2013, 10:40 AM
Traktor crashes on me now and again. It's not 100% stable, but nothing is. Not even a "traditional setup" - always have a back up. A splitter RCA cable and a fully charged iPod works.

Shishdisma
08-06-2013, 11:01 AM