PDA

View Full Version : Can I programme my lights?



jd90009
08-02-2013, 06:05 PM
Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone could help me please.

I have been doing discos for a year or two now, and have noticed more and more people starting to do it. So I thought I would try something different, a cut above the rest. I was wondering if I could make my own sequences for my lights and if anyone knew a program of which does this please?

My lights are:
Abstract Futurescan III ced (times 2)
Abstract Futurescan 1ce (times 3)
Abstract Gladiator 1ce (times 1)
DMX Par cans (Times 4)

Smoke machine strobe etc, irrelevant

Any help would be MUCH appreciated,

Thanks a lot,

Jack :eek:

DJzrule
08-02-2013, 06:49 PM
Can you? Yes, you really need some DMX software like Elation CompuShow, Chauvet ShowXpress, Blizzard Lighting Eclipse, or Martin LightJockey.

You won't be a cut above the rest if you're not already doing this though, in my area I've been doing it since I was 8 years old and I'm 20 now. :) Get on top by making your rig look elegant, having a "look" for slow dances, high energy songs, basic ambiance, etc...

sse
08-02-2013, 06:53 PM
The cheapest route....

FREE STYLER program
http://users.telenet.be/freestylerdmx/

And controler
http://www.enttec.com/?main_menu=Products&pn=70303

But you lights will have to be DMX compatible, or you will have to get DMX dimmer/relay packs if you want to use non-dmx lights and "control them"

Synaxis
08-02-2013, 07:09 PM
If all your lights are DMX compatible I don't see why not.

Note, that DMX has a bit of a learning curve, and if you choose to go the software route as mentioned above, the software will take some time to learn as well.

Start looking up some DMX tutorials on YouTube to help you get started.

jd90009
08-03-2013, 07:57 AM
Thanks for your fast replies! I will start looking into these over the next few days with feedback! :P