PDA

View Full Version : Need some general help in making subwoofers

DJ-Veaux
07-14-2013, 12:13 PM
The title says it all, but let me give you a quick background story of WHY I have to build them:

So I am a house music producer by hobby. I have two alesis elevate 3's that I use to mix my sounds. As good as my tracks might be and as well as they might be mixed, they all lack one thing: The bottom end.

To address this problem I decided to ask my dad for a loan to buy myself a subwoofer with the hope that I could pay him back. This request spurred a 30 minute debate on why I need a subwoofer. Eventually, we came to a compromise that if I could build my own subwoofer I could have one.....

So I come to you guys today to ask a few questions on subwoofer building:

1. What will I generally need? (I know it differs from sub to sub, but in general what would you guys suggest that I get as a foundation point?)

2. Knowledge-wise where should I look if I am interested in building a subwoofer? Are there any other projects you could point me to that I could watch and learn from? Maybe some personal experiences?

3. Do you think I could build a fairly good sized one (I'm thinking 12" x 12 ") with $100? Or how much do you think I should save up in order to build such a piece of equipment?

If you guys need me to fill in any gray areas in my requests just let me know! I'm no speaker expert as you know so my questions may not be quite on the dot.

Hope you guys can help!
Cheers,
-DJ Veaux

EDIT: Yes guys I do have an amp.

Evil Steve
07-15-2013, 08:19 PM
You ask the age-old question.
I have $100 and I want to build a sub to shake the foundations of the earth. It must be small, light, loud, powerful, and bulletproof. What should I get?

What you seek doesn't exist.

There are some DIY sites around for loudspeaker systems.
The first that comes to mind is Bill Fitzmaurice. Here's a link to his site:
http://billfitzmaurice.net/