PDA

View Full Version : Can't decide: Mixtrack Pro vs Hercules RMX

InfoSeek
03-01-2012, 06:49 PM
Hiya!

So I've decided I want to try my hand at DJ'ing. Nothing grandeur, just see if it's really for me. I have been to a few parties where I ended up "managing" the music via youtube, or just playing cds (I had in my car) and people have actually come up to me and asked if I DJ, lol. So I figured why not try it.

Now I'm really new to this so forgive me if I use the wrong term. I'm looking into buying a low end mixer/controller.

Budget: Max $230
End goal (If I like DJ'ing): Club DJ

The two that I'm really interested in are the Numark Mixtrack Pro and the Hercules RMX but I can't for the life of me decide which one to get. They cost $200 and $150 respectively and while the RMX is cheaper, it has smaller jog wheels. However, from what I read, its build quality is better of the two. In comparison, the Mixtrack pro has more tutorial videos on youtube and has a larger jog wheel, but I don't like the fact that it's made of plastic. Furthermore, to my understanding, I can expand on the RMX by adding additional MIDI components in the future if I enjoy DJ'ing. Also, I've seen a couple of videos on youtube where people were scratching (?) on the RMX and it was pretty sick. It looks sleeker too, lol.

So what do you guys suggest?

P.S. I tried searching this topic on here and couldn't find anything substantial. FYI

Oz

DJ Matt
03-01-2012, 07:38 PM
IMO the RMX is nicer aesthetically and since you seem to like it anyway, then i would say its your best bet.

i wouldnt have high expectations for scratching with either of them to be honest.

Defiance
03-01-2012, 08:23 PM
I have the original Mixtrack. Bought it in 09, has been my single most used controller in gigs, in pretty harsh conditions. I was hesitant also because its plastic. But its kind of like the xbox or playstation controller plastic, it is tough. Not one issue there.