PDA

View Full Version : Backpacking and Vagabonding DJ Advice

djphatmatt
03-01-2012, 05:26 PM
This might sound a bit weird to some, but my goal is to become a vagabond traveling the US and internationally and DJing random places for money to live on and continue my travels. I have researched a bit and read a few ppl doing this but not much detail... I have down pretty much how I will be able to do this but my questioning arises about the right midi controller (smallest, lightweight, compact, professional) and if it will fit in a backpack along with some clothes, toilitries, 15" Macbook Pro, etc....

Anyone ever done this or have any advice? I am thinking of a VCI 100SE with an Audio 2 Soundcard, a VCI 300 Mk2, or Traktor Kontrol S2.... Again looking for the most compact, lightweight, easy to transport in a backpack?!?!

Also, I have been DJing off and off for about 12 years professionally. I started with turntables, then went to CDJs, then to turntables with Serato, and have been out of DJing for a few years and now leaning towards the Midi Contorller/ Digital side of things.

Thanks for any input or advice.

Matt

Phil Noize
03-01-2012, 08:09 PM
This controller is very compact and very capable ...

http://www.faderfox.de/mark/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=108&Itemid=171

:tup:

djphatmatt
03-01-2012, 08:19 PM
I forgot to mention... I need job wheels. I am coming from a turntables/ cdj background and love to scratch.

Phil Noize
03-02-2012, 07:57 AM
In that case your thinking of VCI 100SE with an Audio 2 Soundcard sounds like the way forward to me.

djphatmatt
03-02-2012, 04:18 PM
Definitely what I was thinking... :)

Hibbo
03-02-2012, 05:09 PM
S2 would do you, built in soundcard, jog wheels and you can get some very good dj backpacks for it aswell.

k4hn
03-02-2012, 05:59 PM
Be careful out there.

The normal hobo/vagabond doesn't travel around with a MBP and other expensive electronics, you'd be opening yourself up to getting jacked.