PDA

View Full Version : Importance of Back-up Equipment

Jonno Soccio
02-29-2012, 11:11 AM
Can anyone share any experiences of times they have had to call on their back-up equipment when something has failed? Or
any tips for useful backups for the various types of equipment?

I'm interested because i'm new to the mobile game and have a number of weddings booked this spring/summer, some for friends,
some not. At the moment I have no back-up equipment whatsoever.

My Pioneer mixer is solid and working well but is getting on a bit now and I can see it giving up the ghost in the next few years. I
might buy a cheap solid second hand mixer (maybe a vestax) on ebay for emergencies.

If my lap-top fails I can call on my turntables for a less than ideal back-up but I don't have any current wedding stuff on vinyl,
just the classics. Plus turntables are always a bit of a risk, especially on bouncy dancefloors/marquees. (At one previous wedding
I could not play my vinyl at all because of jumping needles, thank god the lap-top held up).

Because of this I am planning to take an i-pod filled with back-ups of the wedding crate, just in case the lap-top fails. I know this
option is far from ideal.. Anyone else do this or do you generally have a second lap-top?

If my speakers go, I am screwed but they are only a month old and "should" be fine. In an ideal world I would have quality back-ups
for each piece of equipment but this is not realistic for me yet and so interested in what everyone else does, or just to hear about
times when it has gone horribly wrong that I can try and learn from!

Midspot
02-29-2012, 11:31 AM
I carry a full backup set of gear for everything. Only needed a speaker once about ten years ago and a mixer from time to time when it was acting funny.

I carry the extra equipment more for the ability to choose the right tool for the job.

DJMC
02-29-2012, 11:34 AM
I always carry my backup console (a Rane MP-24z & Denon DND-2400f in a SKB Shuttle case).