PDA

View Full Version : Mixing In Key

WillyD
05-31-2013, 11:26 AM
Hey Guys

Well I'm new to this, that being Forums and being a Dj. I'm 18, Aus, House lover and play what whoever pays me needs.

now, my question this day is mixing in key. I understand notes (A-E sharps and minors, etc.) but I feel I'm losing out because I don't know which key to go from and to etc..

I've only had my gear two weeks, I knew all my fundamentals before I bought it, I.E Beat matching, Tempo matching, Gains etc.. I just don't want to be another half-commited punk. I love music and I love people. This is perfect for me but I'm nothing yet and any knowledge to lend would be awesome!! :)

- Will!

Dj DRPX
05-31-2013, 12:01 PM
Look up the camelot wheel of harmonic mixing. It'll be perfect for this. Sorry I can't give more info right now, but I'm in school.

WillyD
05-31-2013, 12:18 PM
That's awesome! Thanks man.

I'm wondering though, just looking at the chart, can I jump from 3-6 o'clock on the chart or is it going to sound trashy?

http://www.mixedinkey.com/HowTo

thehadgi
05-31-2013, 12:50 PM
This may be of assistance

http://www.djforums.com/forums/search.php?searchid=3092888

WillyD
06-01-2013, 03:39 AM
This may be of assistance

http://www.djforums.com/forums/search.php?searchid=3092888

Link's not working. Argh!:cry:

alexreedDJ
06-01-2013, 04:15 AM
Just wanted to say welcome to the forums, you seem to be serious about DJing and doing it for all the right reasons :)

Panotaker
06-01-2013, 06:43 AM
That's awesome! Thanks man.

I'm wondering though, just looking at the chart, can I jump from 3-6 o'clock on the chart or is it going to sound trashy?

http://www.mixedinkey.com/HowTo