PDA

View Full Version : Teaching DJing and EDM

blackfoxbb
02-28-2012, 06:15 AM
So. I was invited to give some classes of DJing and Electronic music at a music school.
As I'm a teacher, teaching won't be a problem, but I'm a bit worried about the theoretical content. I'm trying to cover the history since early 70's and the evolution of the genres since then.

It is supposed to take about 32h, both practice and theoretical.

any advises? thanks

Original
02-28-2012, 06:19 AM
Throw out that history bullshit. Nobody cares about Juan Atkins or any of those people or any of the things they did. I'd say go in depth about drum patterns within the various sub-genres of EDM.

Original
02-28-2012, 06:20 AM
Oh, and you should teach poses, like the super important jesus pose. Can't be a pro DJ without the jesus pose.

login
02-28-2012, 09:26 AM
http://techno.org/electronic-music-guide/

I think they way that guide is laided out is pretty good for understanding the history of EDM, you can dismiss the descriptions, the musical examples are mostly accurate for each genre.

DJ ATX
02-28-2012, 10:41 AM
Oh, and you should teach poses, like the super important jesus pose. Can't be a pro DJ without the jesus pose.

And the fist pumping during a transition as well as the pointing to a hot chick.

ON the serious note, I think history and the evolution of EDM is good. It ties into mixing. Especially when it comes to house music. Or I could just be biased on that one.

mrkleen
02-28-2012, 10:45 AM
Throw out that history bullshit. Nobody cares about Juan Atkins or any of those people or any of the things they did.

No one cares about the history of the art and craft they are about to learn about? And you wonder why the younger generation is full of morons. Exhibit A.

DJNR
02-28-2012, 10:54 AM
No one cares about the history of the art and craft they are about to learn about? And you wonder why the younger generation is full of morons. Exhibit A.

I think he was joking.

elcopan