PDA

View Full Version : New Cheap Controller for a NOT N00b DJ

danthedj
02-27-2012, 10:18 PM
I'm currently a student at a state university (Rutgers), and I'm looking to get into doing some house parties/frat parties up here. Yes, i know all about the obnoxious girls, spilt beer, sh*t sound systems, etc. Which is EXACTLY why I dont want to bring my full setup to college. I use CDJs and a simple mixer with Torq as my main setup. I'm looking to get a cheap controller to get me through some parties where scratching and putting together full fledged sets isnt imperative.

In any event, I'm looking to spend around $200 which leads me to look at a few controllers. The Numark Mixtrack Pro, Vestax Typhoon and Torq Xponent. The Hercules RMX also fits into my budget but I'm not a huge fan of VDJ. The Mixtrack and Typhoon both use Serato DJ Intro which I do like alot. My ultimate question is which should I go with, and why?

Any help is greatly appreciated! :tup:

DJNR
02-27-2012, 10:30 PM
In my opinion, I would go with the Typhoon. Vestax makes some pretty solid gear, and if I am not mistaken the Typhoon is just a fancy version of a VCI-100 which is a pretty solid piece of gear. If you want real durability, the RMX is a pretty solid controller also, and can be mapped to work with Traktor if you don't like VDJ.

hewzter
02-28-2012, 08:24 AM
If you can handle liniear fader style EQ's (I can't) the typhoon is a nice controller, the soundcard in it could have been a bit louder but its "ok" atleast.

dirtydutch
02-28-2012, 09:46 AM
hercules rmx

danthedj
02-28-2012, 10:40 AM
hercules rmx

reasons for the rmx? I like that it is made of metal but other than that it doesnt seem any better than the others.

The fader eq on the typhoon doesnt really bother me, i do like knobs better, but getting used to the faders wouldnt be a huge adjustment.

Thanks everyone for the input, keep the ideas coming!

DJNR
02-28-2012, 10:58 AM