PDA

View Full Version : Using equipment ive never used before :S

George
02-27-2012, 05:50 PM
hi im a beginner dj and am playing my first ever gig at a local tavern. I own a crappy little Numark mixtrack with a sync button, The setup i am to be using is 2 pioneer cdj 2000's and a 800 mixer. I am tottally unfamiliar with this setup, aswell as the manual beat watching using the jog wheel etc. Is there anyway i can give myself a better chance of not looking like a complete idiot on the day?

Defiance
02-27-2012, 05:52 PM
just fade in and out between the decks. Keep it simple.

DjBlanco
02-27-2012, 05:53 PM
use your ears they usually work best ....

Boomcie
02-27-2012, 05:56 PM
Yeah...don't take the gig. I'm not trying to be a dick or anything, but you're setting yourself up for failure

Windows 95
02-27-2012, 05:57 PM
You could try learning to beat match between now & the gig. A lot of people claim to pick it up pretty quickly.
If you haven't learned to beat match by then, do as Defiance suggested, just cross fade the songs without beat matching them.

VjQue
02-27-2012, 06:36 PM
Yeah...don't take the gig. I'm not trying to be a dick or anything, but you're setting yourself up for failure I'm With You On This.

If You Don'T Know How To Work It Don't Mess With It.

Don't Do The Gig Your Not Ready.

DjBlanco
02-27-2012, 07:21 PM
lol or you could do what i seen some wanker do @ pacha nyc and hook up his controller on top of the cdj's and 800 xD but ya probally should learn how to dj first without automix/sync

fueledbymusic
02-27-2012, 09:55 PM
Its remarkable that he got a gig in a "big" place!

George
02-27-2012, 10:19 PM
its more of a competetion, each dj goes up against another 15 mins each.. i know how to mix just not familiar with the equipment, i will possibly have access to similar equipment to practise on 2 weeks before the event will this be enough time to familiarise myself with the equipment?

DjBlanco
02-27-2012, 10:21 PM