PDA

View Full Version : Few turntable questions

electricsmooth
02-27-2012, 12:27 AM
My next Dj purchase will be a pair of technics. I am waiting for my Denon 3700s to sell before I go ahead with it. I've never used real turntables before and just had a few questions to help me decide. I'll be using only control vinyl BTW. Here are some questions/concerns:

1. Needles: they seem expensive. How often do they need to be replaced (I know this depends on the amount of use but how often do you go through them)?

2. Skipping: I have two 18" powered subs that are usually placed near my set up. I've heard some people say that turntables will skip.

These two issues may sway my decision so any input is appreciated.

drzinc
02-27-2012, 12:36 AM
Are you going to play actual vinyl or run a dvs system?

As for replacing the actual styli it depends on how heavy you track them and how rough you are at scratching.

As for skipping it can skip if subs are placed close enough to the turntables also feedback can happen if you play actual records.

Rick_N
02-27-2012, 02:04 AM
I'll be using only control vinyl BTW.

That's what you think for now, just wait till the bug bites.

As for styli it all depends but they last for awhile. But you'll begin to tell when they need to be replaced.

And yep the subs can make your needles skip, but you would have to be bumpin pretty good lo. Just try it out and then go from there. No need to worry about it now.

a-mart
02-27-2012, 03:00 AM
The bigger problem I had with my subs was that the bass would cause interference with serato's signal causing the track to skip a bit.

DTR
02-27-2012, 01:52 PM
1. Needles: they seem expensive. How often do they need to be replaced (I know this depends on the amount of use but how often do you go through them)?

As you would be using a DVS, a pair of Shure M44-7s would be ideal. They are cheap, work well with control vinyl, and they are the Challenger tank of the stylus world.