PDA

View Full Version : Review: Denon DN-HC5000

Gjhowe1
02-25-2012, 07:16 PM
Welcome everyone!

After owning this particular piece of equipment for a while now I feel I know it well enough to do a nice mini review on it. Ive been using it with Serato ITCH for about 8 months now and have enjoyed it quite a bit. Its an older controller now, compared to current choices like the Novation twitch, but still holds its own.

Overall Impressions:

Overall Ive found this to be a wonderful little controller for ITCH. Its small, compact and features two decks for use within ITCH. In terms of build quality it follows the Denon tradition of being built like a tank, I would feel comfortable dropping the unit (although i would not recommend that for ANY hardware), worst case scenario you know that this will survive the fall. The unit is a bit heavy due to the solid construction and you will notice the weight when you install it in the rack the first time. The pitch faders are very smooth and have a nice little 'click' when they are at 0. The buttons are the standard Denon rubber buttons you find on most of their hardware, they have a nice tactile click when they engage so you don't need to check twice to see if they are on or off. The jog wheels I find to be a tad on the small size, however that is to be expected in a rack mounted controller. There is a center hub in the middle of the jog wheel that secures it to the platter, I find this a bit annoying as my hand always seams to bump into it when searching though a track. I would have liked to see a nice flat jog wheel similar to those on a pioneer CDJ.

Layout: