PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needing advice.

GSR
02-22-2012, 02:05 AM
Hello I am new to the Dj world and I was curious what you guys thought would be a good setup to start with. I dont really want to use records or anything like that so if I wanted to just plug something into my computer to do remix stuff and scratch what would be a good way to go about it? Right now I am using a Maschine Mikro for beat production but I really want to get into spinning and add some extra flavor to my music. Thanks!

mostapha
02-22-2012, 05:57 AM
Budget?
Genre?
Apparently you want to scratch.
Size requirements?
Any preference on software?
Do you want easy access to effects?

GSR
02-22-2012, 04:49 PM
Im trying to not spend more then $1000 for starter gear. I wanna play dubstep, hip/hop, house. Pretty much my goal is to add some extra stuff to the music I make and be able to play at clubs on the weekends. i dont think I have any size requirements and I was gonna use Traktor and Reason.

electricsmooth
02-22-2012, 05:32 PM
I would suggest getting a controller like the Traktor S4, Pioneer DDJ S1, NS6 or NS7. It is an all in one solution and will fit your budget. The NS6 is made for Itch but I think there is a TSI file available that will let it work with Traktor as well

GSR
02-22-2012, 06:22 PM
I really like the NS6, I have been reading up on it a lot and so far it sounds like a good piece of hardware and the Traktor S4 was the other one I was thinking to mainly because I have the Maschine and I figured might as well stick with Native Instruments to kinda just keep everything in the same family.

electricsmooth
02-22-2012, 10:40 PM