PDA

View Full Version : House production - Looking for feedback :)

franksij
02-21-2012, 09:48 AM
Hello everyone! It's nice to see this forum has gotten a face-lift! Here's a piece I finished yesterday. I'm relatively new to producing dance music; I've always adored it suffice to say I've been a hip hop dj for the last 5 years. I really enjoy the route new dance is taking and I've decided I'd like to try the production aspect of it in addition to playing it.

http://soundcloud.com/frank-sij/kaduceus-frank-sij

Any and all feedback is appreciated since I'd like to improve (as we all do) and If you like it enough, download it straight from sound cloud!

Thanks all!

elctromn
02-21-2012, 03:32 PM
Sounds good, but could use some more dynamics. The build has a good synth lick, but I think if you add more layers it would sound better. Also, when you have a break from the first drop back to the build synth, add some white noise in the background and it will sound like a more fluid transition because the noise difference will be much smaller.

As far as mixing goes, what db is it maxing at before you eq/compress/limit the track? That could be why it seems to not have much dynamics.

Other than that, it sounds really good. I like it a lot.

franksij
02-21-2012, 06:23 PM
thank you very much for the feedback elctromn! see, the entire mix I think is below 0 dB and when I was trying to EQ the song, I went by what sounded clear and was afraid to make things sound too wide or distorted. If you think the white noise will help I'm gonna try adding it in. It's difficult to make the song sound very full and dynamic like you said without getting too messy and that's what I'm trying to figure out now. I never thought of adding noise to be honest haha

elctromn
02-21-2012, 07:33 PM