PDA

View Full Version : How do/did you pick yourself up.

Zafire
10-18-2012, 11:00 AM
Yo guys,

So i've recently started messing around with Dj'ing and i'm loving it!

However i would enjoy it so much more if i wasn't so harsh on myself which for me i think is my biggest stumbling block. I have goals which i want to achieve and obviously as i'm just starting out i'm no where near these, which is understandable.

I'm a noob in all meanings of the word when it comes to Dj'ing but when i make a mistake or even when things just don't sound quite right i get really down on myself about it as i know how i want it to sound and what i want to be doing, even though i'm only playing in my apartment on my own.

The reason it bothers me so much is sometimes i'll mess around and everything will be near spot on in regards to beatmatching etc and then other times it sounds like a steaming pile of shit :lol:

Consistency is key?

I guess you could say i'm trying to beat the 100m sprint world champ before i've even learned to walk.

I feel that getting myself down on the mistakes is hindering the learning process in a way for me, which really isn't a good thing.

How did you guys / girls deal with this when you first started out or even now when things don't go quite right?

Or am i being to critical?

KLH
10-18-2012, 11:15 AM
Consistency is key? am i being to critical?
Consistency is key. It's hard to say if you're being critical.

Remember the easiest path to consistency is repetition (aka practicing). The only way you will know that you're improving is to record and listen to yourself. I highly recommend doing so.

-KLH

tuurrtles
10-18-2012, 11:31 AM
Yeah for sure, record yourself.