PDA

View Full Version : What scratch should I learn after the baby scratch?

DJArmani
02-14-2012, 07:00 PM
I'm just starting out scratching on my month-old 1210s and serato. I mastered the baby scratch on hiphop and currently working on baby scratching over house, just for practice w/ fast tempos. Is there a certain order in which you learn to scratch? I was thinking practicing the chirp scratch next. Thoughts?

scottie the goonie
02-14-2012, 07:12 PM
Learn how to transform, then chirp

DJArmani
02-14-2012, 07:38 PM
^ thanks !

funkyfresh
02-14-2012, 07:42 PM
transforms, forward/backward stabs, chirps... once you get that down, try them at double timed

Jason Cerna
02-14-2012, 08:25 PM
besides what has been mentioned:

http://youtu.be/10G96Lx1_Ek

http://youtu.be/1gCjsjVmqNQ

the best thing you can do for yourself is focus on these scratches so you can do them without thinking. focus on slow, deliberate movements. you want that muscle memory built up before you try the more advanced scratches.

Sigma
02-14-2012, 08:42 PM
As well as the above, I would go for these: -

Tips
Drags
Forwards

They're all pretty easy to learn and you can start doing some combos once you've got them down, for instance Marches (which Jason mentioned above) are done by combining babies and forwards.

Chirps and transforms are the next step up from these kinds of scratches, as are tears, as you're doing more complex movements with the fader and/or record. There's no reason why you can't learn those first though as long as you don't neglect all of the basic scratches as they're the building blocks for more complex ones later on.

DJArmani
02-14-2012, 09:17 PM
Yeah I've been doing marches, I just never knew they were called marches.. And thanks for all the different scratches, I've seen alot of advanced ones but I never knew the simple ones..

Haddock
02-14-2012, 10:12 PM