PDA

View Full Version : Starting to learn scratching

Dharmaboy
10-06-2012, 01:07 AM
Hey guys,
i am new to the turtabalism world and scratching. i am following the great guides by DJ Angelo via youtube and I have some samples I purchased via beatport. I was wondering if there were any sites that had just sample tracks or break to practice scratching too?

Thanks

TheRabbitMonk
10-06-2012, 05:33 AM
it sounds to me like your learning on a cdj?
if so and they or it has a loop function. loop a intro or a bit of a track you like and scratch over that. A good way to learn is to slow it right down. as you get better speed it up.
a tune i use is: dr dre - n****a with a gun.

also alot of guys on here in track submission are always uploading mad of the wall tracks. some of them are quite good as well.

HBBoogie
10-06-2012, 05:51 AM
http://digital.thudrumble.com/

Sigma
10-06-2012, 10:35 AM
Here's tons of free scratch beats/loopers: -

http://yourlooper.com/

Here's a free skipless digital scratch record made by a member of my forum: -

http://www.mediafire.com/?x7s44ygyxle4fdd

The advantage of using loopers is that you have X number of beats that are triggered by clicking a little button on the looper. Once a beat is playing, it carries on looping indefinitely, so if you're zoning out and really getting into your practice session, you could cut for an hour or more without ever having to worry about resetting the beat.

Dharmaboy
10-06-2012, 10:44 AM
Here's tons of free scratch beats/loopers: -

http://yourlooper.com/

Here's a free skipless digital scratch record made by a member of my forum: -

http://www.mediafire.com/?x7s44ygyxle4fdd