PDA

View Full Version : Advice about cdj's

Asaf Lavie
09-27-2012, 01:22 AM
Hello, I'm a keyboard player and I want to incorporate scratching into live shows I do with bands.
I'm not intersted about the other aspects of djing, just scratching. a few questions:

1) what do I have to look for in a cdj? whould every cdj be suitable for me? any recommendations?
2) I noticed that when djs scratch they have one hand on the cdj (or vinyl) and the other on a fader that from what I understand
controls the volume. would I have to have a mixer? doesn't the cdj have a volume control?

Thank you for your help, I'm new to this and can use all the help I can get.

DJhalf
10-02-2012, 08:38 PM
You'll need a mixer with the CDJ. How good do you want to scratch?

JackStalk
10-03-2012, 12:15 PM
A lot of CDJs on the market don't have scratch technology. I found that out the hard way when I first got into DJing. Some of the lower end models just have a "jog" wheel instead of a platter capable of scratching. Just keep that in mind when you are doing research and make sure the model you buy is scratch-able.

DJ Retro Blaze
10-03-2012, 01:40 PM
1) I recommend a media player with a spinning platter to simulate the feel of a turntable. The Denon DN-S3700 (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-audio/denon-dn-s3700-digital-turntable-media-player-and-controller) is a good option, in my opinion, and it can be found fairly cheap at various online retailers.

2) Yes, a basic DJ mixer would be required, if utilizing a CDJ or similar product.

Asaf Lavie
10-05-2012, 04:48 AM
Thank you for your answers. A friend let me borrow his numark mixtrack. I'm using it with virtual dj and so far i'm doing good

Lowercase
11-09-2012, 03:09 AM
..if your just scratching, why not just get a techs 1200 off ebay and an old vestax scratch mixer for cheaps. a few battle records and your set.

JackStalk
11-09-2012, 12:51 PM