PDA

View Full Version : faderwork speed

DJArmani
09-23-2012, 08:14 PM
I was wondering if anyone knew any wrist exercise or techniques you use to speed up your faderwork. For some reason when I do transformer scratches my wrist starts to get heavy and I can't rly move the fader its like i'm forcing myself to move it a little and it begins to hurt my whole arm. Its frusturating cause I can't move on past transformer unless I speed up my faderwork.

syks
09-24-2012, 05:15 AM
Im learning to scratch myself and have come to realise that the answer to getting more speed is simply to keep practicing,start everything reeeeally slow and speed it up bit by bit,im shit at scratching but aim to get to a intermediate level...practice is the key :)

DJArmani
09-24-2012, 03:18 PM
I practice scratching at least 4x a week and I've been scratching for 6 months and I know my hands should be a little faster than what they are now.

Haddock
09-25-2012, 10:40 PM
Ive been cuttin for years and I still get the aches once in a while, especially if I am cold. When I first started I would turn the turntable motor off and do chirps double time using my wrist as the pivot point to strengthen the small muscles in your hand/wrist.

So pinch the fader with your thumb and index finger, and try to only move your hand, not your arm when doing chirps. This will also help you keep your fingers in contact with the fader and with timing.

scottie the goonie
10-01-2012, 01:17 AM
I was wondering if anyone knew any wrist exercise or techniques you use to speed up your faderwork. For some reason when I do transformer scratches my wrist starts to get heavy and I can't rly move the fader its like i'm forcing myself to move it a little and it begins to hurt my whole arm. Its frusturating cause I can't move on past transformer unless I speed up my faderwork.