PDA

View Full Version : Denon DN-X1600 opinions?

bflat
02-13-2012, 10:08 PM
What's up, guys. Glad to see DJF is back!

Anyway, I've been using my PMC-05ProIII since like 2003, and I'm in the market for a new mixer. I've played on DJMs before and what not, but I'm looking to upgrade my mixer at home. I've gotten deeper into production more than DJing these days, but I want a club mixer to prepare for playing out more often. Anyway, I was going for a DJM 800, but for about the same price of a used 800, I saw that you can get a new 1600. Their layouts are very similar, so now I'm thinking of that.

Also, believe it or not, I've been making all of my music through the built-in sound on my MacBook Pro, so I think I'd benefit from the soundcard within the 1600, no? The midi functions look awesome, too, and I can see myself using them with my DAW if possible.

I'm a Serato user. I like Traktor, and I know the 1600 is TSP certified, but I'm used to Serato already, so the certification isn't much of a big deal to me.

I was also looking at the 05ProIV (so sexy), DJM T1 (new low price), and 57SL. I would prefer to have four channels however, because my home setup now consists of two extra computers as well as Serato and Techs.

One last thing: I don't scratch as much as I used to, but I still want a good fader. Just wanted to put that out there.

Any opinions on the matter? I don't want to go any higher than $1000 cause I'm a broke ass college student, as well.

DJ Watty
02-13-2012, 10:22 PM
Can't speak to the 1600 but I love my 1700

---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=44.707790,-73.474240

Lost Connection
02-14-2012, 12:54 AM
I love my DN-X1600, but if you're not going to use TSP2 the Denon loses one of its biggest advantages, the built-in soundcard/audio interface as it is Traktor Scratch Certified.... It will work with VDJ too, but I don't know about Serato compatibility. I think I've seen somebody do it though. But still, the DN-X1600 is a great mixer.