PDA

View Full Version : Made a logo for myself - Looking for feedback

DJ_Wonderdog
09-18-2012, 04:28 PM
I was messing around with some ideas in Photoshop and came up with this logo. Pretty simple.

I am still a novice at PS but was looking for some feedback from the pros in this forum.

White background: http://i.imgur.com/DRX8f.jpg

Black background: http://i.imgur.com/dvH4R.jpg

FYI: I play progressive and electro house.

DJ_Wonderdog
09-19-2012, 08:13 PM
Anybody? Any thoughts at all?

Dj DRPX
09-19-2012, 09:25 PM
I like them both. The only thing you have to consider is how you will use the logo. If feel like if you plan on every putting the black logo on a business card, it'd be impossible to read in a club. In terms of looking like an electro/prog house DJ, I'd say you did that well. I would have guessed that, partly because of the glow. Try brightening up the black one a little in my opinion, but that'd be the only change I'd make. Also, I'm by no means a great graphic designer, so if you like it, keep it the way it is. Hope this helps =)

DJ_Wonderdog
09-19-2012, 10:05 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I really didn't have a plan for them right now, maybe just thumbnail pics for Facebook and Twitter and maybe as a watermark to put on pics. I wanted to put a thin box around the whole thing the same color as the text, but haven't figured out the way to do it yet. :freak:

NickJames
09-25-2012, 12:19 PM
Critiques:

I wouldn't use glow in a logo. If a flyer has an intricate background and the file used for your logo doesn't preserve the transparency behind the glow you'll either end up with a square box behind it or artifacting around the glow.

Your logo also shouldn't have a background, overlaid on a poster/flyer that also has a background having a square box around you logo when your logo is not a square looks really bad and designers will just not use your logo because it will make their design look cheap... Like clipart thrown in as an afterthought.

DJ_Wonderdog