PDA

View Full Version : DMX Help Please!

cooper
08-15-2012, 10:25 PM
DMX newbie here who desperately needs help. I have the following Chauvet products:

-Obey 10 controller
-Colorstrip Mini x 2
-Radius
-Hemisphere 5

I am having issues controlling each fixture independently while daisy-chained, which makes me think I have them addressed incorrectly. I can control the Radius and the Hemisphere individually, but once they're daisy-chained, they go all wonky. The Colorstrip has been a jerk from the get-go, and I can't get it to do anything properly. I want the Colorstrips to be identical, so they should be master/slave. I've read through all four manuals, but Chauvet could really use some improvement in that area. I've had no issues with these lights running standalone sound active, but I knew once I introduced a DMX controller I'd be in over my head. But I think of myself as a pretty smart guy, so this is royally pissing me off! Please help!

Side note: at this point, I'm not seeking help with programming, simply getting the correct starting address and having manual control. Thx!

sss18734
08-16-2012, 12:35 AM
Are you giving each fixture enough channels when you're programming it? Each one of those fixtures will take up at least 8 DMX channels...

If you just want one fixture to copy the other, you don't really even need to set it up as master/slave... Just set them to the same DMX address.

cooper
08-16-2012, 02:10 AM
Why do you say each will take up at least 8 channels? The Colorstrip & Hemisphere are each listed as having 4 channels, and the Radius is 5. The Obey 10 can control up to 16 channels per fixture, so the manual says to set them at 001, 017, 033, etc. Is that the correct way of addressing them?