PDA

View Full Version : Help with making scratching techniques smooth.

DJArmani
08-01-2012, 05:19 PM
I entered a djf scratch battle on here which I lost. But it was a great battle for me because I was able to get feedback and how my scratching was. My problem is getting my scratching to sound smooth and to go with the music. Right now, it sounds kind of forced at certain points and choppy. My transforms are at random times and my combinations don't go well. How can I get my scratching to flow? I feel like I'm not getting anywhere with it right now. I've been scratching for about 5 months and I think I should sound a little better than I do. Should go back to faderless work? I'm pretty good on it but when it comes to the crossfader I start to get sloppy and eventually sound like shit. I'm pretty much on the basics doing baby, tears, stabs, and transformers I just can't get it to flow together. :mad:

I'm file 1 in this battle. Take a listen.
http://www.djforums.com/forums/showthread.php?11328-Rookie-Scratch-Battle-DJ-Armani-vs-DJ-Riddims

DJ Matt
08-01-2012, 07:22 PM
hi DJ armani
i consider myself a bit of a rookie aswell, but ill give my feelings as a listener.
on listening to your mix one thing i noticed was very seldom you are just allowing the sound to play out. "drop" i think its called
after hearing a cut part of a sound a few times, that builds up a sense of tension, the full sound then becomes a release to that tension.

music is based on creating a sense of tension and answering i with a release

so therefore i think it would sound more 'musical' if you were to do the occasional "drop" after a phrase of cuts.

the other thing i noticed was that you didnt seem to be "getting into the groove" of the song much. im not sure how to tell you do do that, other than just feel the music more and try to 'wrap your scratch patterns around the groove' as though you were a rapper, improvising his lyrics to the song. instead of just layering them on top of it.