PDA

View Full Version : 1200 Gurus.. advice needed on calibrating my tonearm

lovecitydjs
07-22-2012, 05:27 PM
Ok.. so i've been using 1200s for roughly 15 years. I'm experiencing a strange problem with one of my 1200s (an M3D). I play roughly 2-4 gigs per week, many require me to bring decks with me (freaking Philly). Setting up my decks one night, i noticed the tonearm on one of the decks was totally loose in its housing. There are three tiny screws that hold the tonearm in place in its assembly and for whatever reason the screws were loose and the tonearm was free to roam about the cabin. I tightened the screws and everything seemed back to normal. At some point, i relegated this pair of decks to studio use and started using a different set for the road. The other day i was playing records in the studio and i notice that the tonearm would slowly drift outward on that deck and eventually skip all the way off the record. I'm assuming it has something to do with the way i adjusted those three screws since that's the only radical thing that's happened to this deck. However, before i go tinkering with the screws, i was hoping someone would give me some advice on how to do this before i totally screw up my tonearm (if i haven't already). bonus points if you've got a video tutorial. haha!

thanks!!

Panotaker
07-22-2012, 06:15 PM