PDA

View Full Version : advice on which tables to buy

daveg
07-19-2012, 01:25 AM
I was wondering which table i should buy since im just getting into mixing. im lookin at the stanton t30 or the gemini xl500 II's. Since im not scratching just mixing i figured either one of those will be alright. So if you could help me out and let me know id be appreciated thanks.

Dantron
07-19-2012, 08:57 AM
Don't waste your money. If you are buying turntables get good quality ones right away. Those will not stay on while mixing and it will frustrate the hell out of you. Go with either Stanton Str8-150s(my personal preference) or Technics 1200s. In my opinion these are the ONLY two acceptable turntables to own.

Irrational_Fear
07-19-2012, 09:58 AM
I've recently been mixing a fair bit recently on my mate's pair of Vestax PDX-2000 mk2's and I'm amazed just how good they are. They must be a good 7 or 8 years old now and the motor is as strong as you could want.

If it was me I would likely go for the Technics as I prefer the more traditional aesthetics over the modern looking Vestax, but if you are happy buying second hand and price is a factor I'd definately give the Vestax a look- 2nd hand prices (here in the uk at least) are a bit cheaper than the Technics.

Just thought I'd offer a slightly different alternative to the usual suspects- but you won't go far wrong with a pair of Technics or the super OEM models.

As Dantron says, avoid buying poor quality ones- with TTs you really do get what you pay for (more so than I personally think you do with CD decks). I played on an old Gemini XL500 quite a few years ago and was less than impressed- but saying that I did subsequently pick up a later Gemini SA600mk2 that I still use to this day.

The torque on this isn't in the same league as the other TTs mentioned but it's much better than the XL500 and has been adequate (if not perfect) for mixing on.